BERLIN - The winners of the 2021 European Press Prize were announced on June 3 with an interactive online winner announcement. At the Community Event in Berlin on September 23, both the 2020 and 2021 laureates were finally celebrated again. 

After two years of pandemic, the event brought together media professionals, journalists and experts from all around the continent. The prizes are awarded each year in five different categories during the European Press Prize Ceremony. 

With over 1,000 submissions from almost all countries of Europe, the winners were selected from the largest pool of submissions in the history of the prize. You can find the list of winners here

The community event had  4 insightful workshops  on cross-border journalism, diversity, collaboration between journalists, and journalism’s future. 

About the European Press Prize
The European Press Prize celebrates the highest achievements in European journalism.The prize is made possible by a number of European media foundations who strive to encourage quality journalism in Europe: The Guardian Foundation, Thomson Reuters Foundation, Politiken Foundation, Foundation Veronica, Jyllands-Posten Foundation,  Democracy and Media Foundation, The Irish Times Trust Limited, Media Development Investment Fund, Agora Foundation and Luminate.

The European Press Prize is awarded on a yearly basis in 4 categories: Distinguished Reporting, Innovation, Opinion and Investigative Reporting. The judges award a Special Award for excellent journalism to one striking entry which defies categories and disciplines. Each award is worth €10,000.

Journalismfund.eu participated at the Global Investigative Journalism Conference 2021


ONLINE - The Global Investigative Journalism Conference 2021 took place from 1 to 5 November, and Journalismfund.eu presented in one session.